The Tryall Fund awards scholarships

No. 130 Friday, August 20, 2010
The Tryall Fund is pleased to announce its Scholarship class of 2010 and has awarded 13 academic scholarships for continuing education.

   At an honours ceremony held on August 12 at the Tryall Club Great House, students celebrated with family members, sponsors and Tryall Staff. The scholarships were open to any family member of a Tryall employee and given to the most outstanding academic and dedicated students.
   Tryall Fund Chairman, Mrs. Terri McGraw stated, “The Tryall Fund Board and Tryall Homeowners appreciate the dedication of all of you who work at the club…and are so happy to be able to give back to you today and to have the opportunity to share aria commit to your promising students academic future.”
   She went on to say, “The Fund truly believes that education should not be limited by finances. We are so pleased to help support continued education for outstanding academic performance and dedication to higher learning to those that is committed to the goal.” Each scholar was presented with a certificate of their achievement.
   After accepting their award each student spoke about what the scholarship means to them personally. This year the Fund award four High School Scholarships, four College Scholarships, four University Scholarships and the Louise Cuilman Scholarship, in recognition to the board’s honorary member.
   The awardees this year are as follows:
High School Class Scholars: Rhomario Davis (Rusea’s High School), Eashwayne Haughton — (Munro College), Rayvene Jenflings (Irwin High School), Keroy Powell (Cornwall College). College Class Scholars: All attending Montego Community College: Orvette Campbell, Rohan Ellis, Shaneika Hazle, and Tamar McKenzie. University Class Scholars: Enleigh Kerr (University of the West Indies), Christina Mason (University of Technology), Omar McKenzie (University. of Technology), Kevaughn Reid, (University of the West Indies)
   The Louise Cullman Scholarship is presented to someone that has a unique educational opportunity, and this year the Louise Cuilman scholarship is presented to employee Shaniek Parks.
   Ms. Parks has also received the Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarship and with the help of the Tryall Fund she will be able to attend a specialized program at the University of Leeds in England.
   “I am truly humbled by this very generous offer from the Tryall Fund. Thanks to Mrs. McGraw, who has not only been a mentor to me, but also a friend, and Mrs. Needle, (Alice Needle, Tryall Fund Vice Chair and Scholarship Committee), and the rest of the members of the Fund, a big thank you for allowing me to take one step closer to fulfilling my dream,” says Ms. Parks
   The Tryall Fund is a non-profit organization committed to supporting education and health initiatives in Hanover. Their major fundraiser ‘The Taste of Tryall’ has been set for November 26th, at the Tryall Club. One hundred per cent of all donations go directly to the children.

No comments:

Post a Comment